2015 Winner: Lloyd Van't Hoff


The Grand Final of the ABC Symphony Australia Young Performers Awards was held on 7 November 2015 in the Federation Concert Hall in Hobart.

Lloyd was named the winner after his stunning performance of the Copland Clarinet Concerto accompanied by the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra conducted by Johannes Fritzsch. The concert also included thrilling performances from two other Finalists, Chris Cartlidge (VIC) performing the Rubbra Viola Concerto and Lily Higson-Spence (QLD) performing the Sibelius Violin Concerto.

Lloyd van't Hoff studied the clarinet in Brisbane under the tutelage of Paul Dean and Floyd Williams. In 2011, he graduated from the Queensland Conservatorium of Music with Bachelor of Music (Honours) in advanced performance.

During his studies, Lloyd was a soloist with the Conservatorium Symphony Orchestra. He also travelled to Beijing as an ambassador for the Queensland Conservatorium of Music at the Beijing International Modern Music Festival, and won the Queensland Conservatorium Postgraduate Award. Lloyd has been Principal clarinet of the Queensland Youth Symphony and  Principal clarinet of the Australian Youth Orchestra.

Lloyd Van't Hoff


Our finalists demonstrate the promising future and continued excellence of Australian music.

Adjudicators were impressed by the high standard overall, and the exceptional technical ability and maturity displayed by these young musicians.

Previous Winners & Finalists
2010 - 2020
  • Winner - Grace Clifford
  • Finalist - Anna Da Silva Chen
  • Finalist - Andrew Kawai
2014 Australia Cello Awards
  • Winner - Yelian He
  • Finalist - Edward King
  • Finalist - Ruben Palma
  • Winner - Hoang Pham
  • Finalist - Stephain Cassomenos
  • Finalist - Andrew Kawai
  • Winner - Katerina Nazarova
  • Finalist - Young Kwon Choi
  • Finalist - Som Howie
  • Winner - Nicholas Russoniello
  • Finalist - Nicholas Young
  • Finalist - Emily Sun
2000 - 2009
1990 - 1999